Mayor and Council

City Council

Greater Sudbury City Council is the decision making body for the City of Greater Sudbury as an organization. Its decisions impact how municipal services are provided to citizens.

Our Council is composed of:

  • the Mayor, who represents the City as a whole, and
  • 12 Councillors, each of whom represents a ward, or geographic area, of the community.

Council is elected for a four-year term. The current term of office is December 1, 2018 to November 14, 2022.

Council meetings are usually the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month and special meetings may be called by the Mayor or upon the request of the majority of members of Council.

To ensure proper social distancing and to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, City Council and Committee meetings will not be open for the public to attend. Meetings are streamed live and available virtually at If you require further information, or if you have questions, please contact Clerk’s Services at 705-674-4455 ext. 4209.

Not sure what ward you live in? View our ward maps,