Elected Council of the City of Greater Sudbury

Municipal Council is an elected body that develops policy that is in the public interest and which affects the municipality. The role and authority of council is established under the Municipal Act. Council usually meets the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of the month and special meetings may be called by the Mayor or upon the request of the majority of members of Council.

The Council of the City of Greater Sudbury is composed of a Mayor, who represents the City as a whole and 12 Councillors, each of whom represents a specific ward, or geographic area, of the community.

Council is elected for a four year term. The current term of office is from December 1, 2014 to November 30, 2018. The decisions of Council impact how municipal services are provided to citizens. Council is the decision making body for the City of Greater Sudbury as an organization.