Flour Mill Museum on the Move to a New Home in O'Connor Park
Jul 19, 2018
The Flour Mill Museum is moving from its current location at 245 St. Charles St. to a new home in O’Connor Park. The move is necessary to make room for construction of a sewage pumping station near the museum’s current location to protect the waters of Junction Creek.
Residents with questions or comments about the relocation of the Flour Mill Museum are invited to attend a public information session on Wednesday, July 25, at Church of Saint-Jean-de-Brébeuf, 26 Kathleen St., anytime between 6 and 8 p.m. A formal presentation will begin at 6:30 p.m.
The Flour Mill Museum is located in a historic house constructed in 1902 by François Varieur, a foreman at Evans Lumber, and was later the residence of the Ontario Flour Mill Company foreman until 1920.
The house was located next to the Flour Mill Silos but was relocated in 1987 to St. Charles Street. A log cabin next door was constructed in 1983 in celebration of Sudbury’s centennial to showcase special exhibits. A third building was constructed in 1975 for office use and storage.
The museum’s new home in O’Connor Park, located at 140 St. George St., will bring the life and history of the Flour Mill Franco-Ontarian community to children and families in the area. It is anticipated the museum will add to the overall family-friendly experience at O’Connor Park, attracting the interest of residents making use of playground equipment, the splash pad and future pickleball courts.
The St. Charles sewage pumping station was constructed in the 1930s to service the Flour Mill area. Its below grade structure and forcemain are deteriorating and require replacement. It is anticipated construction will begin in 2019, following the relocation of the Flour Mill Museum.
More information is available at www.greatersudbury.ca/flourmillmuseum