City of Greater Sudbury Honours Its Volunteers

Apr 15, 2016

For Immediate Release   
Friday, April 15, 2016

The Greater Sudbury Civic Awards, which recognize individuals and groups who consistently give back to the community, were presented to one youth group recipient, seven groups and 17 individuals in a ceremony at Tom Davies Square last night. Civic Awards promote and reward leadership, humanitarian service, and enrichment of the human spirit through volunteerism and community involvement.

"Last night we honoured some of the most giving and caring people of this community," said Mayor Brian Bigger. "Their volunteerism, civic engagement and community pride are well appreciated, and are a strong part of the reason we love our City."

The following are recipients of 2016 Civic Awards:

Youth Group Recipients

2015/2016 Sudbury Lady Wolves Midget AA Hockey Team

Group Recipients

Azilda Dog Park Committee

Cambrian College Criminal Justice Association

Donovan-Elm West Seniors (DEWS)

Sam Bruno PET Scanner Steering Committee

Sudbury& Area Victim Services

Sudbury Playground Hockey League

Regroupement des organismes culturels de Sudbury (ROCS)

Individual Recipients

Carol Conroy

Christophe (Chris) Coulombe

Claudette Crépeault

Marie Jeanne Boissonneault

Claudette Strom

Denise Riel

Edward (Ted) Boyd

Geoff& Michele Kendall

Irene McLean

Jason McKeddie

Joe Drago

Kathy Moggy

Rachelle Merrick

Rachelle Niemela

Réal Démoré

Stephanie Pretty

Steve Rinneard