City of Greater Sudbury Honours Its Volunteers

Apr 11, 2014

For Immediate Release                                     
Friday, April 11, 2014

The Greater Sudbury Civic Awards, which recognize individuals and groups who consistently give back to the community, were presented to three youth recipients, four groups and 26 individuals. Civic Awards promote and reward leadership, humanitarian service, and enrichment of the human spirit through volunteerism and community involvement.

“It is an honour to recognize these individuals and groups for the contributions they make to our great city,” said Greater Sudbury Mayor Marianne Matichuk.

“The people and groups recognized here make a significant and lasting change in our city, and we thank them for it.”

The following are recipients of 2014 Civic Awards:

Youth Recipients

Quade Howald
Sierra Howald
Alexandra Sirois

Group Recipients

Camp Quality Puppet Program
Kanata 1534 troupe
Sudbury & District Quilting & Stitchery Guild
Sudbury Parole Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC)

Individual Recipients

Terry Arsenault
Rolland Bedard
Marlene Bilsborough
Bryan Chapelle
Elizabeth June Davis
Don Degagne
Dean Dion
Sharon Duhamel
Rolland Dutrisac
Christian Fortin
Mary Ann Guzzo
Stan Hayduk
Dick Johnstone
Joel Mackey
Franco Mariotti
Andrew Olivier
Cathy Orlando
Richard Picard
Eddy Picco
Mark & Sheila Ripley
Lawrence Rivers
Roger Szydziak
Wayne Tonelli
Joan Wall
Henry Wall