Community Action Networks

Community Action Networks (CANs) bring people together to build a Healthy Community. Healthy Communities are strong and vibrant. They emerge from the collaborative efforts of citizens who care about where they live and want to make their neighbourhoods the best they can possibly be. Community Action Networks provide resources to make this happen.

The City of Greater Sudbury recognizes the following benefits in establishing and supporting Community Action Networks:

  • CANs enhance the overall quality of life in Greater Sudbury’s social, environmental and economic sectors.
  • CANs enable citizens to participate, appreciate, and fully understand the services offered by community organizations and groups.
  • CANs help to identify community needs and establish co-operative working relationships.
  • CANs promote democracy and inclusiveness by giving participants (community members, City Council, and City staff), a unique vehicle to work in harmony toward common goals.
  • CANs provide a mechanism for planning at the community level by identifying the different projects with which individual Community Action Networks will be involved.
  • CANS take action and implement projects and initiatives which have a positive impact on the quality of life in Greater Sudbury.

For general information about Community Action Networks, please call the City of Greater Sudbury at 311.

View the Community Action Network Terms of Engagement, or Community Action Network Standard Operating Procedures. (PDF)

Community Action Networks have been formed in the following areas:

Azilda

Richard L. Paquette
705-698-7443
richard@richardlpaquette.ca

facebook: Azilda Community Action Network
website: www.azilda.ca

Capreol

Randy Crisp
705-919-2413
rfcrisp@gmail.com
http://capreolcan.ca/

facebook: Capreol Can

Chelmsford

Aaron Lacasse
705-855-2219
alacasse@cptm.ca         

Coniston

Stephen Gauvreau
705-694-0048
s_gauvreau@hotmail.com

facebook: MyConiston.ca

Copper Cliff

Lisa Demmer
705-662-9582
lm.demmer@gmail.com
facebook: Copper Cliff CAN

Donovan/Elm West

Monique Mercier
705-677-0533
moni.mercier@fibreop.ca

Flour Mill

Claude Charbonneau
705-674-0242
401charbonneau@gmail.com
 

Garson/Falconbridge

Julie Aube
705-507-8036
jaube@autumnwood.ca
www.gfcan.ca
facebook: Garson Falconbridge Community Action Network

Minnow Lake

Dean Eyre
705-920-1228
jtdeyre@gmail.com
 

Onaping Falls

Mike Armstrong
mike3-11-58@sympatico.ca
facebook: Onaping Falls CAN

South End

southendcan@gmail.com

Valley East

Linette Filippini
705-929-9621
linettefilippini@hotmail.com
facebook: (VECAN) Valley East Community Action Network

Walden

Jessica Joy
705-665-6986
jessannejoy@gmail.com
www.walden-can.com
facebook: Walden Community Action Network (CAN)

Ward 1

Peter Furino
705-522-0741
furino@cyberbeach.net
facebook: Ward 1 CAN - Sudbury

Ward 8 (New Sudbury east of BarryDowne)

Rachelle Niemela
705-805-0575
rmniemela@hotmail.com
www.ward8sudbury.ca
facebook: Ward 8 CAN