Based on the 2016 Census, the total population of the City of Greater Sudbury is 161,531.

Like many northern communities traditionally linked to natural resources, Sudbury's population has experienced both decline and recovery. Having peaked in the early seventies at 169,580 (1971 Census), total population declined to 152,470 in 1986, mainly due to downsizing in the mining sector, poor economic conditions and the out-migration that occurred as a result. This downward trend was reversed from 1986 onward - the 1996 Census population of the former Regional Municipality of Sudbury was 164,049.

The City of Greater Sudbury was formed on January 1, 2001, as recommended by the Report to the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing on Local Government Reform for Sudbury (November 1999). The new City represents the amalgamation of the towns and cities which comprised the former Regional Municipality of Sudbury:

  • Sudbury
  • Capreol
  • Nickel Centre
  • Onaping Falls
  • Rayside-Balfour
  • Valley East
  • Walden
  • as well as several unincorporated townships (Fraleck, Parkin, Aylmer, Mackelcan, Rathbun, Scadding, Dryden, Cleland and Dill).


Based on the 2016 Census, there are 69,152 households in the City of Greater Sudbury.

A household refers to a person or group of persons who occupy the same dwelling. Following the national trend, average household size has been decreasing as the number of households have risen. The 2016 Census indicates an average household size of 2.3 persons, compared to 4 persons per household in 1971.